In need of help on a Lonestar 13 repair

Here you can discuss Chrysler Sailing across all makes of Chrysler sailboats.
jessg

In need of help on a Lonestar 13 repair

Post by jessg »

Hello Everyone. This is a great site! I am a serious novice who just purchased a 13' Lonestar that I love. Everything looked good on it overall and I picked it up for a reasonable price (I believe). I got it home, started removing the slats in the floor and noticed the fiberglass is cracked where the slats attach and where the cleat swivel combo and casting mast heel attach. I'm bummed but if it can be repaired I'm sure you guys would know how to do it. I was surprised to see that a piece of wood runs the length from stern to bow surrounded by fiberglass and that is what the mast heel and cleat swivel are really screwed into. The wood underneath is watersoaked and rotten. Luckily the craft appears water tight and the fiberglass underneath the wood it appears to be in great condition. (I chipped away a little of the fiberglass that's falling apart)'

Is this a big fiberglass pro kind of job?

I appreciate any help or direction you may have. I'm really looking forward to getting her out for my maiden voyage.

Thanks.

Jess
John K

Post by John K »

Welcome!

Upon first approaching a possible fiberglass job, it can be a bit intimidating. But, through experience, I've found that it's really not that difficult, especially if it doesn't need it to be pretty, and you aren't fighting gravity. I would really like to see a picture of this. If the wood is not badly deteriorated, and you can get it dried out, you could probably treat it with Smith's Clear Penetrating Epoxy Selaer, then glass back over it. If the wood is toast, I would chip it out, replace it, and glass over it. Post a picture if you can, then we can see how bad it is. You can do the job, and it's not as bad as you think.
1977 C22: Dog House
Bhacurly
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Bhacurly »

Post some picts for sure!