Painting the boat

Post All Paint, Fiberglass, Or Maintenance Topics Here.
N41EF

Painting the boat

Post by N41EF »

Got my bottom paint finished today. Will need an hour with the massage therapist to get the kinks out but it came out decent. Warning! This is how I lifted my boat to paint the hull, try this method at your own risk! Your trailer frame may not be the same and this may not be safe for you, it may have not been safe for me.

I started by sanding the hull, at least everything that the bunk boards didn't cover. I now feel as though I have a Master's degree in sanding. I tryed three sanders I had, and actually bought a 4th. The newest one is an 8 hole random orbital from Sears, that had a bag attachment. I left the bag off and used a car vac hose attached to my 5gal shop vac to keep the dust down to a minimum. The hose didn't fit perfectly but was close, it caught prob 90% of the dust.

Without access to a lift or sling I reasoned that I could lift each side of the boat one at a time, using a 2x4 about 4 inches from the keel pocket and two floor jacks. The floor jacks sit on the trailer frame, the back jack I put on a double thickness of 2x4. I also thought that three or four bottle jacks sitting ont he frame might have worked too.

I then removed the bunk board and sanded the area where the boards support the boat, I also replaced the carpet with bunk carpet from West Marine. I also replaced all of the bunk hardware with new galvinized from Tractor Supply and drilled 3/4 inch hole in the bunk boards where the carrige bolts went into the wood. Originaly mine stuck up and since the carpet was so bad, my boat was riding on bolt heads. The carpet went on with 3M carpet glue in a spray can. I only put carpet on the face of the boards, that way I can see them and tell when they need to be replaced, instead of hiding them behind carpet. I may varnished the exposed wood, just to protect them.